The Thankfulness Challenge

We live in a society permeated by negative messages. It’s abundantly obvious that most of the news is filled with negative/depressing information. Positive happenings rarely ever make the news. It is easy to recognize this trend among the mainstream media, but what of our own lives? Are the words that come out of our mouths positive or negative? Do we share things that uplift or tear one another down?

Much like our news programs, too often we share mostly negative news with each other. The positive/good things in our lives are often taken for granted so we do not talk about them. For instance, how often are we thankful for being healthy? It usually takes us getting sick for us to be truly thankful for being healthy.

One of my high school friends shares something that he is thankful for every day on Facebook. It’s been inspiring to read all the things that he is thankful for over the course of the past few months. It’s refreshing to read something positive each and every day on Facebook where the trend seems to be to rant and complain about all that is wrong in one’s life on a daily, and at times hourly, basis (at least with a large number of people who I am friends with on Facebook). It can be discouraging to scroll through all the different updates from everyone and very few people have anything positive to say. It is depressing, particularly since a large number of people I am “friends” with on Facebook claim to be Christians. The same is true in our conversation. If we only share negativity, then we are poor reflections of the joy and peace that is found in Christ.

1 Thessalonians 5:18 says, “In everything give thanks for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”  I mentioned in an earlier blog post that I try to make a list of things I am thankful for each day and then praise the Lord for each thing. I’ve neglected to do this as often as I had originally wanted to so to keep me accountable, I’ve decided to “go public” with a challenge for myself and you as well. Every day I am going to try to share something new that I am thankful for with someone around me- whether it be spoken, face-to-face, texted, or posted on Facebook (like my friend does). I am also going to start a running list of each thing I am thankful for here on my blog. You can see my running list here or go to the tab at the top of the page labeled “The 365 Day Thankfulness Challenge”. My goal is to post something I am thankful for a total of 365 days and see what happens. I’ve already noticed my attitude improving as I thought about what I’m going to post today. So, what about you? Are you up for the challenge?

The 365 Day Thankfulness Challenge

Share something you are thankful for with someone around you- whether it be spoken, face-to-face, texted, or posted on Facebook. Keep a running list of each thing you are thankful for. No repeat entries allowed. Each day, find something new to be thankful for! 

2 thoughts on “The Thankfulness Challenge

  1. Grace, this is something I have truly been working on. I am, by nature, a pessimistic person. Perhaps many of us are, but I have practiced having a complaining-nature too long. And I have decided to change- for the health of myself, my relationship with God, my marriage, and my future children. I have begun EVERY day to thank God in prayer and in my journaling- for everything. Even the things I don’t feel particular thankful about. I have purposed that when I am driving, I will spend the time thanking God for anything I can think of. I have purposed that every day, I will thank God for my husband and for many qualities about him. (This helps me to have a good, thankful attitude towards him and spurs my love for him!). I have purposed that when I feel myself being negative towards my husband, towards a student, towards a parent, or towards a situation, I will stop and be thankful for the opportunity to grow, to practice grace, to learn patience, to express God’s love, to serve, etc. Having a thankful heart is truly changing my life! Best wishes for your challenge! 🙂

  2. What a great idea! Facebook is full of negativity, lies, complaining, railing, foul-language, hurting hearts, lost souls and sinfulness – all blatantly published and probably hoping for a coveted number of “likes” and comments. All the while, I notice Christians, myself included, hesitant to post God’s Truth since we may offend or upset someone. Or we hesitate to post the positive and thankfulness for blessings for fear that others may see it is bragging. But, we should proclaim the Gospel and God’s good works! I’m heading over to facebook right now to start!

    Kate S.

Leave a Reply

