Jerusalem Artichokes

Jerusalem artichokes are a root vegetable. They are actually a type of sunflower root. Nutty, flavorful and healthy (high in calcium, potassium, B vitamins, and iron among numerous other nutrients), this vegetable has quickly become one of my favorites. We buy Jerusalem artichokes at our local farmer’s market, but I have seen them sold at grocery stores as well. Jerusalem artichokes look and taste nothing like the standard green artichoke. They are light brown and look more like a ginger root than anything else.

A word of caution- according to Sally Fallon, author of Nourishing Traditions (2001), Jerusalem artichokes should be well-cooked, otherwise, she notes, they will cause “severe intestinal distress” (p. 385). I have reviewed several recipes for this vegetable and some recipes do eat recommend eating Jerusalem artichokes raw on salads and such, but I’d rather be safe than sorry since severe intestinal distress sounds like no picnic. We have never tried to eat them raw. We’ve always eat our Jerusalem artichokes well-cooked.

Although there are several ways to prepare Jerusalem artichokes, we prefer Fallon’s (2001) recommendation of peeling the root and then adding it to boiling water. We allow the artichokes to boil for ten minutes. Then add a splash of lemon juice and continue boiling for five more minutes. Finally, we drain the artichokes, slice and saute them in a bit of olive oil and butter and a dash of lemon juice, salt and pepper for about 10 minutes on medium heat (until the artichokes are slightly brown). The aroma while the artichokes are sauteing is amazing! The taste is wonderful. We often eat these as a side dish instead of a potato or rice dish.

Be sure to give them a try the next time you see them at your local farmer’s market or grocery store. They are delicious!

*This post is shared on Real Food Wednesday.

3 thoughts on “Jerusalem Artichokes

  1. I love Jerusalem Artichoke! I made the mistake of eating a bunch of them raw, definitely not a good plan! Boiled then sautéed sounds like a better idea!

  2. Now this is probably the best thing about not being a picky eater – when I hear of some new food being recommended my nose does not wrinkle up in suspicious hesitation, but my mind and mouth tingle with excitement!

    Thanks once again to my parents who raised me to be an easy eater! And I’ve done the same, of course. ;D

    These sound delicious!

    • I don’t know how…but I’ve managed to go all these years without ever trying a Jerusalem artichoke. I’m sure my family would love it. We are a vegetable-eating bunch! I’m glad to know NOW how to cook them and will keep my eyes peeled at the Farmer’s Market!

Leave a Reply

