Catching On

Learning something the hard way is rarely enjoyable. Such was the case last week when I discovered that kale and brussel sprouts are loaded with fiber. Needless to say, as delicious and healthy as kale and brussel sprouts are, I do not recommend eating several helpings a day for two days straight unless your system is used to consuming high amounts of fiber on a regular basis.

Two days after that experience, my order of cacao nibs and gogi berries arrived in the mail. Both are considered superfoods. Cacao nibs are a rich source of magnesium and antioxidants. Gogi berries have 500 times the amount of vitamin C than oranges do (by weight) plus lots of other nutrients. We heard a lot about superfoods and decided to give these two a try. Ryan really liked the gogi berries (organic, raw, shade-dried). I thought they were disgusting. I thought the cacao nibs tasted alright, and decided I could see myself eventually enjoying them. Ryan thought they were too pungent to be enjoyable.

I made a smoothie with the cacao nibs. It turned out well (probably because I couldn’t really taste the nibs when they were blended in the smoothie!). I could probably get over the gogi berries strong taste if they were mixed in a granola or something similar. I’ve got some experimenting to do for sure. I don’t want these superfoods to go to waste just because I don’t like their flavor.

I realized, after staring at the gogi and cacao nutrition labels and mentally willing myself to like these two super-healthy foods, that they are both loaded with…guess what? Fiber! One ounce of cacao nibs has a whopping 36% of our daily recommended amount of fiber in it!

So, here’s what I’m learning (for those of you who are seasoned healthy eaters, you are probably thinking, “duh!”, but please be gracious, I’m new at this…):

From what I can tell, the foods that are healthiest for us are high in fiber. Granted, I don’t have a degree in nutrition, but my mind logically deduces that these foods are so healthy because they effectively flush toxins out of our bodies, which is why many of these foods (kale, brussel sprouts, broccoli, etc.) are considered anti-cancer. If our bodies are constantly flushing toxins out, then toxins can’t build up in our bodies and cause long-term health problems.

All of that being said, I’m still not sure how much fiber is too much or if there even is such a thing as too much fiber. I’m wondering if I start eating these two superfoods on a regular basis, “Will my body adjust or will I feel like I’m going through detox again- like I felt the other day when I ate too much brussel sprouts and kale?” I think I’ll start out consuming these superfoods in moderation (as I should have done with the kale and brussel sprouts, but they tasted SOOOO good!) and see how that goes. Of course, I have to figure out how to use them first! Wish me luck!

* This post is shared on Monday Mania at The Healthy Home Economist and on Real Food Wednesday.
3 thoughts on “Catching On

  1. Sarah L says:

    We’ve tried cocoa nibs and goji berries too. I agree that the goji berries taste gross. 🙂 Not a big fan of the nibs either. they have been sitting in drawer because i don’t know what to do with them. 🙂

    • Grace says:

      I just got an awesome recipe for something that is similar to lara bars, but homemade (and that uses Goji berries!). I’m going to give it a whirl once I get all the ingredients and will post the recipe if it’s any good! The nibs are good in yogurt, but that’s as far as I’ve gotten with them!

Leave a Reply

