Rest for the Weary

Myla, our daughter, and I took a nap together this afternoon, a rare occurrence as of late. She snuggled right up to me and we both drifted to sleep in a few minutes. How I cherish those moments with my daughter!

I woke up before she did and laid there next to her, watching her and praying for her. How rare it is to see her still anymore! As I laid there praying for her and thanking God for our precious gift, our dog, Scofield, suddenly started barking. Not just a bark, but incessant, nonstop barking. I cringed.

Usually, if Myla is in her crib sleeping, she always wakes up when she hears Scoffie bark.

With each bark, I felt my blood pressure (and temper) rising. What a way to end our peaceful nap! Myla was going to wake up crying now! To my surprise, Myla kept sleeping in my arms. She did not stir, not even once during Scoffie’s thirty minute barkfest. She slept through his thirty minutes of barking and then for another half an hour after that! She woke up peacefully and smiling.

As I laid there with Myla, I could not help but think about how she must feel so safe and loved in my arms to be able to sleep so soundly through all the turmoil and noise going on in our house at that moment. I am her Mommy, her protector; and so it is with the Lord.

When we are resting in the arms of our Saviour, it doesn’t matter if the world is crowding in around us or the enemy is barking hateful things to us. We are safe. We can rest knowing God’s got us wrapped in His arms.

Think about all the times when we try to handle things on our own- blazing forward, doing whatever we think is best. What happens? We usually end up overwhelmed, frazzled, burnt out and exhausted.

Find rest today friend. The Lord’s arms are near and waiting. Curl up with your heavenly Father, and find refuge today.

He tends his flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young. – Isaiah 40:11

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. – Matthew 11:28

One thought on “Rest for the Weary

Leave a Reply

