Getting out of the recliner!

“Withhold not good from them to whom it is due, when it is in the power of thine hand to do it.” Proverbs 3:27

My sister shared this verse with me several weeks ago, and it has been hanging out in the back of my mind ever since. She said, “How often do we pray for something or someone when it is completely in our power to answer their prayer?” I thought about all the times I’ve prayed for someone not to be as stressed, but never once offered to take his or her kids for the day so he or she could have the afternoon to relax. I thought about all the times I’ve prayed for the Lord to provide a ride for someone when that person’s car is in the repair shop, while my own car is sitting, rarely used, in our garage. Ouch! I was convicted by her words.

She went on to share something along the lines of, “We shouldn’t pray for things when it is in our power to them. As Christians we should just do them.” A few weeks after our discussion, I read the verse for myself in my daily Proverbs reading. The wheels in my mind started cranking. We should be the hands and feet of Christ not just every once in a while, but as a lifestyle. When someone comes to us requesting prayer, we shouldn’t sit back in our spiritual recliners content to watch the situation unfold all the while praying for someone else to do what God may have already equipped us to do. Of course, there are times when it is appropriate to wait on the Lord, and God may very well just want you to only pray about something. Yet, I know, for myself, there have been plenty of times that I have opted to only pray for someone, rather than meet their need with the gifts or things that the Lord has so wonderfully blessed me with.

Think about it this way. If we are standing next to our child who is learning to walk and our child starts to fall, do we pray for the child and do nothing or do we automatically reach out to stop their fall? It’s natural for us to reach out and grab them. Similarly, it should be natural for us to reach out and minister to those around us with the love of Christ, particularly when there is a need that we are fully capable of meeting with the gifts and blessings that God has given us.

So, what are we waiting for? God’s given us spiritual hands and feet! Let’s get out of our recliners and get to work!

3 thoughts on “Getting out of the recliner!

  1. I have had that verse on my mind a lot lately. Not so much in the prayer aspect as you are speaking of, but more so in just reaching out to my unsaved neighbors, and those at church as well. By nature I’m kind of an introverted person and am generally happy to keep to myself, but I know that is not what God would want me to do. He would want me to bake cookies for my new neighbors, to invite another neighbor to a gathering with my church friends, to do good to those when I am able to.

Leave a Reply

