Blessed Beans!

Pinto! Northern! Garbanzo! Black! Beans!!!!!! What’s not to love? They are inexpensive, easy to prepare and packed with protein, fiber, iron, and minerals, as well as omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids. Beans are quickly becoming a staple in our home. Here are a few ideas for cooking them:

  • Add to soups. One of our favorite soups is split pea soup with chunks of ham in it!
  • Serve with spices, such as garlic, paprika or cayenne pepper.
  • Baked beans
  • Mash beans in fat (lard or oil) to make refried beans.
  • Onions, bacon, carrots or peppers may be added to beans.
  • Beans and rice

Beans should be soaked overnight in water to soften them and make them more easily digestible. I recommend buying beans dried. Dried beans are healthier than canned beans. We have been getting some of our bean varieties from ALDI foods since we can get them just as cheap there as buying them in bulk. Other varieties we buy in bulk online.

Do you have a favorite bean recipe? I’d love to try it out!

3 thoughts on “Blessed Beans!

  1. Rachael says:

    Hey Grace,

    I do all of my beans in the crockpot; it is super easy! Just sort, rinse, dump ’em in there and cover with water. Set it on high for a few hours (probably at least 6 for most varieties) and you’re all set. Once they’re “cooked,” you can portion them out into ziplock baggies and freeze them for future use.

    Also, no need to add lard to make yummy “refried” beans. After trying at least 5 different recipes, I finally tried this one from my mom.

    Sort and rinse one bag (1 lb) of pinto beans. Place in crockpit and cover with 9 C of water.

    Add 1 onion (quartered or chopped, I usually spoon it out before I mash the beans, so quartered is fine for that); 1/2 jalapeno, seeded & chopped; 2 T garlic; 1 3/4 t pepper; 5 t salt (yes, it’s a lot, so far I’ve tried using 1/2 as much and it wasn’t enough, our beans were very bland); and 1-2 t cumin (I like cumin, so I add 2 t). I also add any fresh cilantro I have to the mix because I love the flavor.

    Cook in crockpot on high for 8 hours. Once the beans have cooked, drain the water, reserve about 2 C in case you need to add liquid once you’ve mashed the beans. Mash beans to desired consistency, add reserved liquid as needed.

    Here’s the wonderful thing about this recipe: If you’re in a rush, you can start the beans in the morning and add the spices halfway through and they’ll still taste delicious!

    Enjoy!
    Rachael

    • Grace says:

      Thanks! Sounds delicious! If we have extra beans we always mash them up and freeze them in icecube trays for Myla 🙂 She loves beans and it’s so easy to just pull them out of the freezer for her! I don’t know why I’ve never thought about freezing them for us! I’m definitely going to try that next time!

Leave a Reply

