High Fructose Corn Syrup Stinks!

So, if you remember one of our very first posts, you’ll recall one of our earliest wholesome living decisions was to eliminate high fructose corn syrup (HFCS) from our diet. As I go through a mental inventory of what is currently in our kitchen cabinets, I cannot think of a single thing that has HFCS in it! Hurray! Back when we decided to eliminate HFCS from our diet, several people asked us why we were doing it. We would of course ramble off our list of reasons. Mid-ramble, I would always think (to myself), “Why don’t more people know about the dangers of HFCS?” or “Are we crazy for thinking this since we are so clearly in the minority for thinking HFCS is bad for you?”. Now that most of our friends and family know we are avoiding HFCS, the question does not come up as much. But, I am sure it will come up again sometime in the future. With that in mind, I am posting a link to a recent article (hurray for mainstream media coverage on this- finally!) that does a good job of describing a few of the harmful effects of HFCS. Here’s the article:

“Cancer cells feed on fructose, study finds: Pancreatic tumor cells use fructose to divide and proliferate, U.S. researchers said on Monday in a study that challenges the common wisdom that all sugars are the same.”

2 thoughts on “High Fructose Corn Syrup Stinks!

  1. Nicole Swinton says:

    I actually found this article very encouraging! When I became pregnant for the first time about 6 years ago, we made drastic changes to our diet and I’m certain we were healthier for it. We continued that lifestyle without much difficultly until we relocated from college to our hometown area. The first obstacle was the grandparents introducing our kids to “bad” foods. We respectfully fought them on it for a while but eventually the bad foods seemed to make their way into our babies bodies. And when I was pregnant for baby #3, with a 3 year old and a 1 year old at home, I willingly let my good food habits slip.

    I would say that the vast majority of our products at home are healthy and free of harmful ingredients. But I always slip up when I’m away from home, justifying bad food as o.k. on special occasions. Funny thing is, I still try to watch everything my kids are eating but I allow myself to eat things I shouldn’t! The fact is, a lot of “comfort foods” are cheap and easy. If I’m out shopping with 3 kids and I need a pick-me-up, it’s much easier to go to the drive-thru for fries and a soda for myself than to plan ahead and prepare a healthy snack and keep it from getting warm or soggy. (And apple slices just don’t always seem as appealing as greasy fries. I think stress makes us crave salt and sweets and caffeine but those things only elevate our stress levels. I’d call that addiction!) But little by little, I’m feeling a regained sense of control and order over my busy life with 3 and eating is just one more area that I need to make a priority. My health and wellness, and the habits I’m teaching my children, are much more important than a Dr. Pepper or a candy bar! Thanks for keeping these things on our minds Grace 🙂

Leave a Reply

