Homemade Dishwashing Detergent Update

Well, I finally mixed up some of the homemade dishwashing detergent (for recipe see earlier post) and tried it and was pleasantly surprised by how well it worked. The only difference I noticed was that my dishes did not come out of the dishwasher sparkling clean. They were clean, but not shiny like they are when I use commercial dishwashing detergent. It was comforting to realize that when I wash my dishes by hand, they definitely do not sparkle the same way they do as when I put them in the dishwasher and use commercial detergent. When I look at it that way, the lack of sparkle doesn’t bother me so much. The dishes weren’t cloudy or streaky or anything weird like that when I took them out of the dishwasher- they were just plain clean and I’m content with that for now.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Dishwashing Detergent Update

  1. Sarah L says:

    FYI – If you have a rinse aid dispenser you can put undiluted vinegar in there instead! (I don’t think it makes your dishes sparkly, but another way to avoid commercial cleaners & clean your dishes naturally!.)

  2. taighbeag says:

    I don’t have a dishwasher and have been unsuccessful in finding a recipe for homemade dishsoap. Let me know if you come across anything. I recently switched to more natural brands (as opposed to Joy or Dawn) because of the recent articles about how dangerous the chemical in antibacterial soaps actually is.

  3. Grace says:

    I was going to wait to find a homemade dishsoap recipe till I ran out of what I was currently using since I have the same concerns about antibacterial soap, but then yesterday I reached under my sink to see how much I had left and realized that our dishsoap had spilled all over our cabinet! It was a sticky mess! So, I ended up having to find a recipe sooner than I thought! Here’s what I’m going to try: 1 cup of Castile soap, 3 tablespoons of water and a few drops of essential oil (I’ll probably do lavender).

Leave a Reply

