The roots behind the grass…

For as long as I can remember I have hated vegetables of all kinds. Carbs and I, however, have a loyal and passionate relationship. Give me a bagel loaded with cream cheese and I am one happy girl. Dinner at our house typically consisted of easy to prepare dishes- a meat, boxed side item (typically mashed potatoes, rice or pasta), and for my husband’s satisfaction, a can of either green beans or corn- sometimes I’d switch it up and we’d have a salad. I’d eat the veggies sparingly under the watchful eye of my husband who was constantly trying to convince me to eat just a few more bites of the nightly vegetable.

I never really considered myself to be unhealthy. I knew I should be eating vegetables, but I have never had any health problems, aside from a finicky stomach. My weight was good. My blood pressure was good. My heart rate was good. So, I didn’t worry about it. Dinner was whatever tasted good, was cheap, and took less than an hour to make. I never considered where our food was coming from. I thought of myself as a bargain shopper and bought whatever groceries were cheapest so we could get as many groceries as possible for the amount we’d budgeted each month for our food.

My entire perspective on the food that we eat and where it comes from changed with the birth of our daughter. Shortly after our daughter, Myla, was born, I read about the Proverbs 31 woman. I was impressed. She worked before the sun rose to after the sun set to ensure that her family was well taken care of. Not only did she take care of her home, but she was also involved in the community. I was convicted. As a new mom, I knew that the food I ingested affected Myla’s development because I was breastfeeding. It didn’t take a rocket scientist to realize that not eating vegetables was not good for my daughter’s health. Since I have a master’s degree, I am a firm believer in research, so I started researching. The result: My husband and I decided to start eating real, unprocessed food. Little did we know that our family’s decision would ripple into an entire lifestyle change. This is our story.

This blog chronicles the story of our family’s desire to eat real food, the lifestyle changes that came, unexpectedly, along our journey, and the struggles and joys that we face along the way.

Leave a Reply

